Sport Deed

Breaking news, world sports news.

NASCAR at Bristol results: Joey Logano wins chaotic Food City Dirt Race

It wasn’t pretty, but Joey Logano managed to weave his way around a few multi-car wrecks and emerge victorious at Monday’s Food City Dirt Race.

Drivers struggled with visibility and control on the Bristol Motor Speedway track, the site of the NASCAR Cup Series’ first dirt race since 1970. Logano and his crew embraced the challenge, held off the rest of the field in the final stage and overtime and snagged their first win of the season.

“It was definitely a challenge,” Logano said. “When they watered the track the last stage, that kind of changed everything. . . . Nobody really knew what to put in the car. We were able to adjust the right way throughout practice and get into victory lane. It’s great.”

With Logano’s victory, there have now been seven different winners through seven Cup Series races this year.

Sporting News tracked live updates and highlights from Monday’s NASCAR Cup Series race. Check out the complete results from the Food City Dirt Race.

MORE: Watch the NASCAR dirt race live with fuboTV (7-day free trial)

NASCAR at Bristol results

1Joey Logano
2Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
3Denny Hamlin
4Daniel Suarez
5Ryan Newman
6William Byron
7Tyler Reddick
8Ryan Blaney
9Erik Jones
10Chase Elliott
11Brad Keselowski
12Michael McDowell
13Matt DiBenedetto
14Chris Buescher
15Kevin Harvick
16Kurt Busch
17Kyle Busch
18Ryan Preece
19Martin Truex Jr.
20Chase Briscoe
21Austin Dillon
22Alex Bowman
23Stewart Friesen
24Cole Custer
25Quin Houff
26Ty Dillon
27Bubba Wallace
28JJ Yeley
29Kyle Larson
30Josh Bilicki
31Mike Marlar
32Cody Ware
33Chris Windom
34Christopher Bell
35Ross Chastain
36Aric Almirola
37Shane Golobic
38Corey LaJoie
39Anthony Alfredo

NASCAR at Bristol live updates, highlights from Food City Dirt Race

(All times Eastern)

7:10 p.m. — After a late restart, Joey Logano holds onto the lead in overtime and wins the Food City Dirt Race.

6:55 p.m. — Ricky Stenhouse Jr. makes contact with Bubba Wallace and cuts down his left rear tire.

6:30 p.m. — Joey Logano steals Stage 2 away from Daniel Suarez. 

6:15 p.m. — NASCAR will be sticking with single-file restarts for the rest of the race.

6:05 p.m. — Bring out the caution flag. The lack of visibility is causing problems.

6 p.m. — Well, that’s one way to watch a dirt race.

5:45 p.m. — Daniel Suarez passes Martin Truex Jr. to take the lead shortly before the second competition caution.

5:20 p.m. — Martin Truex Jr., coming off a Truck Series victory, wins Stage 1.

5 p.m. — Another caution. Christoper Bell and Ross Chastain are done for the day.

4:55 p.m. — Almost immediately after the track is cleared, we’ve got more chaos. Ryan Newman spins out on Lap 48.

4:40 p.m. — Whoa. A major crash on Lap 41. Aric Almirola got the worst of it.

4:30 p.m. — Bad news for Kyle Busch: He is forced to pit early with what appears to be an overheating issue.

4:20 p.m. — And they’re off. Denny Hamlin takes the lead on the opening lap, but he is quickly passed by Kyle Busch.

4:05 p.m. — Ross Chastain will not allow the dirt to touch his face.

3:45 p.m. — It turns out the dirt track looks much better when it’s not being crushed by constant rain. 

NASCAR race start time today

  • Date: Monday, March 29
  • Start time: 4 p.m. ET (TV coverage) | 4:18 p.m. ET (green flag)

FOX’s coverage of Monday’s NASCAR Cup Series race at Bristol Motor Speedway is scheduled to begin at 4 p.m. ET. The race is expected to start around 4:18 p.m. ET.

MORE: Explaining the rules & more for NASCAR’s dirt race

NASCAR lineup for Bristol dirt race

Here is the full starting lineup for Monday’s race:

DriverCar No.Team
Kyle Larson5Hendrick Motorsports
Denny Hamlin11Joe Gibbs Racing
Ryan Blaney12Team Penske
Kyle Busch18Joe Gibbs Racing
Martin Truex Jr.19Joe Gibbs Racing
Kevin Harvick4Stewart-Haas Racing
Alex Bowman48Hendrick Motorsports
William Byron24Hendrick Motorsports
Austin Dillon3Richard Childress Racing
Joey Logano22Team Penske
Chris Buescher17Roush Fenway Racing
Matt DiBenedetto21Wood Brothers Racing
Ricky Stenhouse Jr.47JTG Daugherty Racing
Ryan Newman6Roush Fenway Racing
Christopher Bell20Joe Gibbs Racing
Michael McDowell34Front Row Motorsports
Ross Chastain42Chip Ganassi Racing
Daniel Suarez99TrackHouse Racing
Bubba Wallace2323XI Racing
Brad Keselowski2Team Penske
Cole Custer41Stewart-Haas Racing
Ryan Preece37JTG Daugherty Racing
Aric Almirola10Stewart-Haas Racing
Erik Jones43Richard Petty Motorsports
Chase Briscoe14Stewart-Haas Racing
Chase Elliott9Hendrick Motorsports
Tyler Reddick8Richard Childress Racing
Kurt Busch1Chip Ganassi Racing
Anthony Alfredo38Front Row Motorsports
Corey LaJoie7Spire Motorsports
Cody Ware51Petty Ware Racing
Stewart Friesen77Spire Motorsports
Quin Houff00StarCom Racing
JJ Yeley53Rick Ware Racing
Shane Golobic78Live Fast Motorsports
Chris Windom15Rick Ware Racing
Josh Bilicki52Rick Ware Racing
Mike Marlar66Motorsports Business Management
Ty Dillon96Gaunt Brothers Racing

Let’s block ads! (Why?)

Sporting News RSS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *